A few weeks ago I joined lots of lovely ladies in Vestal to celebrate my dear friend Julia’s bridal shower. It was a wonderful day, full of laughter, friendship, family, and wedding chitchat. Before the shower, Julia’s sister Laura sent an invitation to everyone with a note requesting that they bring a special recipe as part of a community shower gift. In keeping with the theme, the sweet favor bags Laura assembled contained a special recipe from her to all of us. The recipe was for a lemon icebox pie, and I couldn’t wait to give it a try. I’m not a big pie-maker or pie-eater, but I love a good cold pie. I made it as soon as I got home, and it was positively delicious. Only one problem: it never actually became pie. I think it may have been my embarrassing inability to patiently whip cream to the proper consistency, but it just never set. Even in a cup, it was one of the best pies I’ve ever had. Turns out, I’ve got a bit of a thing for lemon. It was especially good for breakfast with a a hot cup of coffee and a baby on my lap. I’m going to give it another try soon and post it here soon after so you can all experience the lemony goodness of Laura’s lemon icebox pie!

