We’re heading east.

In just 10 (ten!) short days, we’ll be leaving Buffalo and driving to a tiny little town called Schaghticoke, New York to start a new chapter in our lives.

I have accepted a position as Director of a beautiful public library in the village, and we will live in the giant Victorian-style apartment upstairs as caretakers of the property. It is called the Diver Library, and it serves the approximately 600 residents of Schaghticoke. I am so happy to have found a job that is absolutely perfect for me at this stage of my life. I can work part-time (about 20 hours per week), and during that time Henry will be right upstairs with dad. I’ll be able to take breaks to nurse him or for a quick baby hug, and I’ll never feel too far away. I’ll have the opportunity to create programming, build the library collection, and be a part of the village community while still having lots of time to watch Henry grow. Our rent and utilities are paid as part of my compensation, and the apartment is stunning. Plus, Henry gets to grow up in a library. It’s my dream job.

While it will be difficult to adjust to such a small town, and we’ll certainly miss our friends and old haunts in Buffalo, the location is really pretty great. We’ll be about half hour from Albany or Vermont, an hour or so to the Adirondacks, and just a few hours’ drive to NYC, Boston, Montreal, and Providence. I see a lot of weekend trips in our future this summer!

I’m equal parts nervous and thrilled about this upcoming change, but mostly I feel grateful. I can say without any hesitation that I’m living the life I’ve always wanted. I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

