The whole country is experiencing a pretty rough heat wave this week, and today is the peak day for temperatures here in Buffalo – it’s going to be almost 100! While I have the luxury of working the hottest 7 hours of the day in the air-conditioned Book Arts Center, my poor Rosie is back at the house feeling the heat. I wanted to make sure she was well-hydrated and as comfortable as possible today, so I took a couple measures to help her stay cool. Before heading to bed last night, I filled 3 bowls full of water and put them in the freezer. This morning before I left, I took them out and placed them in shady spots in the kitchen and living room so she will have cool water for most of the day as they melt. I also gave her a few ice cubes this morning, and wiped her fur down with a washcloth soaked in cool water to help her cool off. Last but not least, I made dog popsicles!

I found this recipe in the most recent issue of ReadyMade, and Rosie absolutely loves them.

Frozen Doggy Treats

2 c. low-fat organic vanilla yogurt
1 ripe banana
3 T. flax meal/groud flax seed

Put all the ingredients in your food processor or blender and blend until smooth. Pour into ice cube trays or small paper cups and freeze overnight. Your pooch will love them!

Keep cool, everybody (and every doggy!)

