This week I had my first chance to cook with meyer lemons. What a delight! Their skin is smooth and canary yellow, and the smell, well, it’s just plain wonderful – a mix of sweet, citrusy lemon flavor with a hint of floral notes that makes me wish I could wear it as perfume. The flavor of meyer lemons is commonly described as a cross between a typical lemon and a mandarin orange. I think they are a joy all their own.

They only fruit for a very short time in January, so if you see them at the market one week, they may not be there the next (unless you live in California). I picked up about a dozen last week when I saw them at my local market, and I made a meyer lemon curd, marmalade, and vinaigrette.

Meyer lemons grow well indoors, but you have to be diligent in pruning and caring for the tree. I’d like to find one this summer and take extra good care of it so that the last week in January can always be Meyer Lemon Week! instead of Is The Snow Actually Falling From the Sky Already Grey?! week.

The meyer lemon curd was a beautiful match with this gluten-free rosemary flatbread I made on Sunday. I’m saving the rest of the curd for some buttermilk sandwich cookies this weekend.

Meyer Lemon Curd
(originally from The Perfect Pantry)

1/2 cup butter
1-1/2 cups sugar
Grated zest of two Meyer lemons
1/2 cup Meyer lemon juice
6 eggs

Put all ingredients, except eggs, into a nonreactive bowl set over a pot of simmering water. When the butter has melted and before the mixture is too warm, gradually whisk in the beaten eggs. Cook, stirring constantly, until thickened, about 10-15 minutes. Remove from heat and cool. Place the curd in a container, cover, and store in the refrigerator.

Works great on a sweet or herbed bread, with baked goods, or for lemon bars.

Gluten-free Rosemary Flatbread

3/4 c. your favorite all-purpose gluten-free flour blend (I use Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose Baking Flour – sold in bulk now!)
2 tsp Xanthan Gum
1/2 tsp Sea Salt
1 Tb Olive Oil
3/4 cup Warm Water
1 tsp Sugar
1 Egg
2 tsp Yeast, Active Dry
Small handful of chopped fresh rosemary (thyme works nicely too)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Combine yeast, sugar and water in a large bowl and let stand about 5 minutes. Combine dry ingredients (besides rosemary) in separate bowl. Add egg and oil to wet ingredients, then add dry ingredients. Mix with a blender for a minute, adding a teaspoon of water if dough moves up beaters. Fold in the rosemary. Scoop onto greased baking sheet, wet your hands with water and spread dough over sheet until smooth (this dough is rather sticky and probably won’t be completely smooth. It won’t matter though, I promise). Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown and your house smells like the rosemary fairy fell from heaven and landed in your kitchen.

I can’t wait for next January already!

