After making the fleur de sel caramels last week, I have been eager to try another candy. I wanted to start with something simple, so I found a (very) simple recipe for glacé fruit (also called crystallized fruit or candied fruit). These are surprisingly wonderful. Each piece is sweet and bright, with a burst of lovely tangerine flavor when you bite into them. I plan to candy lots of other fruits – I’m especially looking forward to cherries and pineapple.

Candied Tangerine Slices

Combine 1/2 c. sugar and 1-1/2 c. water in a large saucepan and bring to a boil. While you are waiting for the boil, slice 4 or 5 small tangerines in half and then into 1/4″ slices. I placed my tangerines in the refrigerator in the morning so they would be more firm for slicing, it helps the slices keep their shape.

Reduce heat to medium-low and drop fruit slices into the sugar syrup. Allow to simmer lightly for 40-50 minutes, flipping once or twice, until the slices are translucent but still hold their shape.

Remove fruit with a slotted spoon onto a drying rack with a baking sheet underneath (to catch sugary drips) and allow to cool and set overnight.

Dredge in sugar, and enjoy!

These will keep for a couple of weeks if sealed tightly.

