Pomegranates are my favorite winter fruit. I made my first pomegranate jam yesterday, and I learned a few valuable lessons. First, juicing pomegranates by hand is hard. Second, juicing 5 pomegranates is torture. Also, fresh pomegranate juice is absolutely delicious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Five pomegranates yielded 1 pint of jam, so if I do make this again in the future (and I will) I will use a combination of fresh-squeezed pomegranate juice and POM. If you do want to use fresh-squeezed, I got about 1/2 c. juice from each pomegranate.

my recipe:

*REVISED*

Makes 2 pints.

4 c. pomegranate juice (fresh squeezed, preferably. POM, probably.)
2 c. water
1 c. sugar
1 box Pomona Pectin

Combine pomegranate juice and water in a pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 10 minutes.

Prepare 4 half pint jars and lids.

Add entire box of Pomona Pectin to sugar and combine.  As Connie from Pomona Pectin was so kind to point out in her comment, this will eliminate the problem of the pectin forming lumps that are tricky to dissolve. Thanks, Connie!

Bring mixture back to a rolling boil (stirring constantly), add sugar/pectin mixture and stir until dissolved. Allow the mixture to boil for a minute or two, then remove from heat.

Skim any foam  off the top, and test if desired on a frozen plate.

Ladle the liquid into your clean jars, place clean lids on top, and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

